Civil Union in CT
A ‘civil union’ is a term used in the law referring to a legal relationship or ‘union’ between two people of the same sex. A civil union has the rights and responsibilities of a marriage but does not receive federal benefits and may vary in how other states treat the union. In the state of Connecticut, there are numerous factors that qualify a couple to join a civil union which include:
- Person is not a party already existing in a civil union.
- Person is of the same sex as the other party joining the civil union.
- Person is at least 18 years old.
Both persons joining a civil union must appear before and complete an application to the registrar of vital statistics in the town by which the civil union is to be celebrated. Licensing for a civil union may only be granted if:
- Written consent is provided for parties who are under conservatorships.
- Both parties present themselves before the registrar of vital statistics and provide necessary information.
- Both parties are at least 18 years old.
The ceremony of joining two parties in a civil union must occur no more than 65 days after the application date. Any person who joins two parties in a civil union without receiving their issued license may be fined up to $100. In CT, a civil union ceremony must occur in the physical presence of an individual who is authorized to legally join civil unions. After the ceremony is completed, the newly joined civil union will receive a civil union certificate which needs to be given to the registrar of vital statistics of the town at which the ceremony took place. The certificate must be given to the registrar within the first week of the month following the ceremony.
Contact Apex Law Firm for More Information
This was a brief overview into civil union policy in the State of Connecticut. If you are interested in learning more about civil union laws and requirements in CT, check out the General Statutes of Connecticut Section 46b-38aa to 46b-39 or contact Apex Law Firm today.